Our Profile

Welcome to the Nansana Municipality official website where we will interact and share ideas for the betterment of our municipality. Nansana Municipal Council attained this status in July 2015 formed out of four Lower Local Government under statutory instrument 2015 No. 47 on the 9th day of September 2015, this Municipal was created from Nabweru sub-county, Nansana TC, Gombe subcounty and Busukuma Subcounty which are part of Wakiso Districts under Regulation 32. (2) of the Third schedule of the Local Governments Act of 1997.


Nansana Municipal Council is located in Wakiso District found in the Central Region. It is about 9.6km (6 miles) from the centre of Kampala, the capital City of Uganda on (Kampala-Hoima Road). It borders with Wakiso Sub-county, Mende sub-county and Masuliita sub-county in the west, Kampala city in the south and Nangabo sub county in the East.


A transformed municipality from unplanned to an orderly, vibrant and properous city.


To provide timely and quality services for improved Livelihood.

Population of the Municipality

According to the National Population and Housing Census (NPHC) 2014, Nansana Municipality is having a population of 368,694 people. This shows an increase of the population within a period of 12 years by 198,931 people, with a population growth rate of 4.1% above the national growth rate of 3.03% This high population growth rate may impact the growth potential of the Municipality, the current projected population is approximately 43 Million.

Land Tenure System

The most common type of land holding in Nansana is Kibanja ownership which accounts for 69.5% followed by private Mailo land (18.8%). Freehold land is 6.4%. It is indicated that all the Bibanja holders were either on private Mailo or freehold tenures. Bibanja owners are majorly in Nansana (37.9%) and Nabweru Divisions (31.6%), while Busukuma Division (16.9%) and Gombe Division (13.6%) have small proportions of this category. This reflects the fact that the majority of the residents in the Municipality are bonafied occupants.

Our Executive

Card image

Regina Bakitte

Her Worship The Mayor.

Card image

Atwoko Jimmy Ambrose

Town Clerk.

Card image

Hajjat Ssengendo Hadijah

Deputy Town Clerk.